Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme Bread Knife Review (4166-0/20)7 min read

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme Bread Knife Review (4166-0/20)7 min read

November 28, 2020 0 By Vasyl

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4166-0/20 is an 8-inch bread knife created by one of the most famous knife brands originated in Germany. The Solingen-based manufacturer was born in 1871 where 3 workers manually forged blades that became widespread in both Europe and the U.S. Wusthof still remains a family business controlled by the 7th generation of directors managing more than 300 employees. 

This cutlery vendor is one of the oldest blade making companies in Germany. It creates the Classic Ikon Creme series knives using its own special PeTEC technology which includes 55 various manufacturing steps. Most of these steps imply automatic processes. They, however, also include such manual work as polishing and quality checks. I prepared this Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme bread knife review to make the right decision while considering a number of worthwhile serrated or wavy blades.

Characteristics:

  • Series – Classic Ikon Creme
  • Blade material – chrome molybdenum vanadium steel
  • Steel grade – X50CrMoV15
  • Type – forged
  • Blade length – 8” (20 cm)
  • Handle material – polyoxymethylene

EDITOR’S RATING: 5/5

Design

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4506-0/16 has conquered my heart right away when I saw it first. I associate it with my favorite granny’s old forks produced at the end of the 19th century. These forks were beautiful, they had champagne-colored, curved bone handles. I remember myself eating delicious meals with such a nice fork. This is one of many reasons why I like Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4506-0/16 so much.

If you always pay attention to what you cut food items with, this cutlery masterpiece is totally suitable for you! Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4506-0/16 looks stylish and luxurious. As for me, this cutting tool is one of the best Wusthof bread knives in terms of design. Its handle looks brutal and masculine but the creme color adds some elegance to the whole knife. When you only take this cutting tool in hand, you understand that it’s not just a standard utility knife, it belongs to the highest league.

Despite your kitchen design, the 4506-0/16 model will perfectly fit the interior and feel like an essential decor element. I find it functional and graceful at the same time. When I welcome guests in my kitchen, they always express their admiration for my Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4506-0/16, especially if they are connoisseurs. Anyway, this knife always draws attention to itself with its shiny blade and luxurious, creme-colored handle.

Blade

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4166-0/20 has an 8-inch forged blade made of chrome molybdenum vanadium steel. This metal is also used in more affordable knives of other brands. However, X50CrMoV15 can provide all its benefits only when forged properly. It’s hard to find a better brand that would be able to take more from this steel grade than Wusthof. Appreciated by cooks from the entire world, stainless molybdenum vanadium steel empowers the Classic Ikon Creme blade with excellent cutting capabilities and long-term durability. The additional alloying chemical elements makes the blade more resistant to corrosion, more solid, harder, and more reliable.

With the hardness of 58 HRC and sharpening angle of 28 degrees, the blade will remain sharp during nearly a lifetime usage period depending on how often you usually cut pumpkins pineapples. The key benefit of the 4166-0/20 model is its double serrated blade that cuts hard crusts just as easily as cakes. You will immediately fill the difference between the double serrated and wavy edge right when you first try this bread knife in action. With Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme, the cutting process is easy and efficient no matter how tough the peel is.

Unfortunately, such a high slicing effectiveness has the other side of the medal. If the blade suddenly becomes dull because of the careless or frequent usage, you won’t be able sharpen or hone it on your own using none of the popular manual sharpening tools like honing steel, whetstone, or manual sharpener. Instead, you will have to go to special sharpening companies capable of doing such a complex job. Many of them, though, don’t provide a guarantee your blade will be as sharp as it was when you bought it. However, this is the most pessimistic scenario because this knife will last for decades if you take care of it properly.

Bolster

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4166-0/20 has a half bolster that is an inherent part of its full-tang blade which provides a perfect knife balance as well as ensures a high overall knife hardness. Besides, this short bolster forms a barrier for product pieces so that they don’t get under handle shells. This keeps the knife clean and prolongs its appearance for many years. 

WIth this special blade thickening, your cutting process will become much safer since the bolster protects your fingers from cuts. Your hand securely remains within the handle and can’t slip on the blade. What I like the most in the Classic Ikon Creme bolster is that it allows me to use the full lenght of the blade which is extremely useful when I need to cut a large watermelon. It makes hand movements easier and smoother, thus safer.

Handle

The forged Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme bread knife has a 4.7-inch handle that has a special curved shape which fits to the form of the palm during a grip. Made of polyoxymethylene, the Classic Ikon Creme handle ensures a reliable grip in wet hands. When working with this knife, both the handle and blade feel the continuation of my hand. A reliable grip is extremely important when cutting large solid products. Moreover, polyoxymethylene guarantees that the handle will look beautiful as if you just purchased it.

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme handle shells are securely attached with 3 steel rivets the same as in the Gourmet series. But Classic Ikon Creme looks magnificent as a luxurious knife would. The handle is comfortable to hold. it feels like it gets adapted to your palm once you take it in your hand. The shell surface is smooth as if there are no rivets at all. I suppose such a feeling appears because of the suitable blade balanced well due to a double bolster with a counterweight at the end of the handle. This counterweight has a high-quality Wusthof logo lasering.

Price

The price of the 8” Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme bread knife is less than $150. It’s expensive for sure but you have to understand what you pay for. Classic Ikon Creme is the exact copy of the Classic Ikon series with a single difference in color. A cream color is definitely more elegant than typical black, but I doubt it’s a wise overpayment. Although, such knives last for decades which fully justifies extra $30. Sometimes you should rather pay more than reproach yourself for being greedy. This knife will make your kitchen look more professional and more stylish.

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme is an undoubtedly professional knife. However, home cooks also can consider this blade if they appreciate high-quality cutting tools and want them to look perfect within the home kitchen interior. If you’re tired of the endless number of identical black handles and need something extraordinary as well as still at the same time to cut large fruits, vegetables, and berries, then the Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme bread knife marked as 4166-0/20 is the right choice.

Pros and Cons

㊉ Advantages

  • Serrated blade.
  • A perfectly balanced blade.
  • Great design
  • A full-tang blade
  • Forged from a solid piece of chromium-molybdenum-vanadium steel.
  • The ergonomic handle design is developed in coordination with professional chefs.

㊀ Disadvantages

  • It’s not dishwasher safe
  • Unsuitable for manual sharpening
  • Expensive