Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 6″ Utility Knife Review (4506-0/16)7 min read

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 6″ Utility Knife Review (4506-0/16)7 min read

November 27, 2020 0 By Vasyl

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4506-0/16 is a 6” utility knife made in Germany. This blade belongs to high-class professional knives which is reflected in its price. Despite Wusthof usually doesn’t offer different color options for its knives unlike Victorinox for example, Classic Ikon Creme is an exception since it differs from a similar Classic Ikon series in a creme colored handle. That’s why you can buy an alternative 4506/16 knife with the same cutting characteristics but a black handle for the identical price. In this Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 6″ utility knife review, I will tell about my own experience of using this blade and share my opinion.

Characteristics:

  • Series – Classic Ikon Creme
  • Blade material – chrome molybdenum vanadium steel
  • Steel grade – X50CrMoV15
  • Type – forged
  • Blade length – 6” (16 cm)
  • Handle material – polyoxymethylene

EDITOR’S RATING: 5/5

Design

When I first saw a Classic Ikon Creme knife, it made me associate it with my beloved grandma’s old forks produced somewhere at the beginning of the twentieth century because they had curved bone handles with the same creme shade. I remember me eating my favorite bubble and squeak with such a lovely fork and drinking clabber in the morning to the roosters crowing. That was a carefree time in a village. That’s why this utility knife made me feel nostalgic and conquered my heart before I even started testing it. These sweet memories, however, can make my Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme utility knife review unfair.

The knife looks gorgeous and stylish. Its creme colored handle, which has an unusual brutal form, adds some chic to the whole cutting tool. To my mind, this blade is the best Wusthof utility knife when it comes to design. Its forms intrigue and make your heart beat faster if you’re a cooking enthusiast and pay attention to what you chop products with. From the first look, its appearance says that the knife belongs to the premier league. Its shiny blade and elegant handle let you know you’re holding a masterpiece of the cutlery manufacturing art rather than an ordinary utility knife.

My kitchen mostly has a cocoa and cream color palette that’s why this knife perfectly fits the interior. Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme looks as if I was choosing my kitchen interior with this utility knife coming in a package. It feels like an inherent design element and I’m sure it will in your case too no matter which color your kitchen is. The thing isn’t in just a color, the thing is in the overall knife design. It’s graceful and functional at the same time. The appearance review is always subjective, but I couldn’t find anybody who wouldn’t express their admiration after having taken this utility knife in their hands.

Blade

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4506-0/16 has a 6-inch forged blade made from highly alloyed chrome molybdenum vanadium steel. On the left, the blade has an engraving with the Wusthof logo, name of the knife series, model, and information about the brand age and place where the 4506-0/16 blade was made. The steel grade of this knife is X50CrMoV15 where:

  • X50 means martensitic stainless steel which contains 0.5% of the carbon that turns iron into steel, thus ensuring strength and hardness.
  • Cr means chrome which increases metal corrosion resistance.
  • Mo means molybdenum standing for a metal that reduces alloy fragileness
  • V means vanadium. This chemical element improves hardness and increases corrosion resistance like chrome
  • 15 means 15% and indicates the total percentage of alloying elements.

The blade has 58 HRC according to the Rockwell hardness scale. It’s a pretty high rate for European knives while Japanese blades can have 61 HRC and higher. 58 HRC means that the blade keeps sharpening for a long time and it’s also suitable for manual honing and sharpening. Using this utility knife for more than a month, I didn’t apply honing steel and it still passed a standard newspaper test.

The 6-inch blade with a width of 0.8” is suitable for cutting both fruits and vegetables. Beveled from the tip to the base, this blade is also convenient for slicing meat. In my kitchen, a utility knife is the second most frequently used blade. The important blade characteristic is its thickness. The thinner a blade is the thinner product slices you can get. On the other side, a too thin blade can be flexible or fragile. Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme has an optimal thickness which allows you to make as thin slices as you need.

Bolster

Despite a bolster is small thickening between a handle and a blade, it still deserves a separate text block in the Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme review because it plays a tremendous role in the overall knife design. For instance, it protects your fingers from injuries and prevents product pieces from getting on a knife handle, thus making a handle slippery and affecting a grip. Typically, only forged blades have a bolster since a laser cutting technology makes forming a built-in bolster impossible.

The Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 6-inch utility knife has a half bolster which is almost as helpful as a full bolster, but it also enables you to utilize a blade more effectively by cutting and slicing products using the full length of the cutting edge. A half bolster makes a manual sharpening process easier, especially when using a whetstone since the bolster won’t be a barrier that will сollide with a whetstone surface. In this knife, the bolster is an inherent part of the full tank blade which makes the utility knife extremely strong.

Handle

Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4506-0/16 has an unusual blade with lovely cream-colored pads attached to a metallic handle with 3 steel rivets which form an absolutely smooth surface along with the plastic pads. In fact, this is a special plastics called polyoxymethylene which greatly resists large temperature differences as well as keeps its structure and appearance for tens of years. Its main characteristic, however, is anti-slipping which allows you to safely cut products when holding a knife in a wet hand. I was surprised how reliable my grip was after washing my hands without wiping them.

The length of the handle is 4.7 inches which makes it suitable for a palm of any size. Its form looks monumental and brutal since it reminds me of typical hunting knife handles due to its descending bottom line. The top part of the handle has a convex form, thus creating a convenient place to hold on to for your palm and ensuring a comfortable and reliable grip at the same time. Despite a significant weight equal to 0.3 lbs (133 g), this knife feels comfortable and the form of its handle didn’t tire my hand even after a couple of hours of active cutting and slicing products for a dinner for 4 adults and 1 kid.

At the end of the handle, Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme 4506-0/16 has a steel counterweight with the company logo engraved on it. The counterweight is an inherent part of the full tang blade. Along with the bolster, it makes the knife well-balanced, thus making the cutting process easier, less tiring, and more comfortable.

Price

The Wusthof Classic Ikon Creme utility knife price is about $100 which can seem expensive from the first look. This cost, however, is totally fair for blades of such high quality. This cutting tool is the best suitable for professional chefs or those home cooks who adore cooking and prefer doing it using luxurious cutlery. This knife combines splendid and convenient design as well as excellent slicing characteristics along with the reliable cutting edge, long-term sharpening, and the ease of manual honing. It’s hard to require more for this price. That’s why I estimate this utility knife as a perfect choice for those who have an unlimited budget for such a purchase.

Pros and Cons

㊉ Advantages

  • Suitable for slicing and cutting many kinds of food
  • A perfectly balanced blade with a counterweight
  • A full-tang blade
  • Forged from a single piece of the high-alloyed stainless steel
  • An ergonomic handle with anti-slipping pads
  • Magnificent design

㊀ Disadvantages

  • High price
  • Large weight